Bands You Should Know: Lynam

From left to right: Lonny Paul, David Lynam, Jacob Bunton, and Mark Dzier

Band: Lynam

Genre: Rock

Hometown: Birmingham, Alabama

Sounds like: Def Leppard, Bon Jovi, KISS…80’s glam rock with better vocals

Discography: White Trash Superstar (2002), Bling Bling (2003), Life in Reverse (2004), Slave to the Machine (2006), Tragic City Symphony(2008), Thank You Good Night (2010), and Halfway to Hell (2013)

Suggested Tracks: “The Best Thing,” “Left for Dead,” “Tanis,” “Letting Go,” “By Your Side,” “Is This a Heartbreak or a Loaded Gun?” and “Cold”

I saw Lynam for the first time in October of 2008. After the show, I wasted absolutely no time in buying both of the CDs they had available at the time (Slave to the Machine and Tragic City Symphony). I listened to both albums obsessively until the next time I made it to a show, which unfortunately wasn’t until August 2009.

All it will take is one time seeing/hearing Lynam to get addicted. I’ve been following them for five years and actually find it very difficult to describe them. I think I have too much to say, but at the same time, no words seem accurate enough to explain how amazing this band really is. For this reason, I again went to my friends for help. There were a lot of responses, so I’ll just share the best three:

“[Lynam is] the complete package – they are great live, their CDs are full of great, straightforward ROCK, and they are genuinely good people.”

“One of the hardest working bands to come out of Alabama in years. They reached that level by never resting on past accomplishments and somehow finding a way to give a little more of themselves every time they took the stage, or wrote a new tune. I’ve watched these guys for years now and they truly get better every show/record. For anyone looking to form a rock band and take it on the road, look to this band as a “how to” and you should be fine. They have definitely raised the standards.”

“Everything [about Lynam] is great. They put on one of the greatest shows I’ve seen. They are super cool and make you feel like you’re a part of their show!! Jacob’s voice is….a-mazing!!!!!!! David’s drumming skills are like no other.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself. I’ve compared Lynam to bands such as Def Leppard and Bon Jovi, yet that isn’t quite right. Lynam has an additional something that I can’t quite put my finger on. Maybe it’s their creativity, their lack of fear for thinking outside the box and writing tracks like “The Party Starts Now” and “Store Bought Halo.” Maybe it’s the fact that vocalist/guitarist Jacob Bunton has the most beautiful voice in the world. Or maybe it’s the way they so obviously love what they do, and that definitely adds to both the recordings and the live performances.

I can’t write about Lynam without mentioning the guys themselves. It is easy to understand why they have such a loyal following. Jacob, drummer David Lynam, bassist Mark Dzier, and the latest addition to the band, guitarist Lonny Paul are all sweet guys. They’re just so normal and relatable. I can’t imagine them ever turning a fan away, whether (s)he wanted an autograph, a picture, or simply to talk. I have never left a show without a smile on my face.

Talented, fun, and crazy (in the best way possible), Lynam is a band you should definitely add to your music library.

Want more information? Check out my review of the band’s latest release, Halfway to Hell.

Facebook, Twitter, YouTube

Leave a Reply

