RIP Wayne Static

I have been a fan of Static-X for over a decade. The very first song I heard by them was “Black and White.” I remember buying Machine at Wal-Mart and blasting that, along with “Cold” and “Get to the Gone,” on repeat. When Shadow Zone was released, my best friend and I were obsessed with the video for “The Only.” Someone gave me a copy of Wisconsin Death Trip because I wouldn’t shut up about Static-X and he didn’t care for it that much anyway. I was so excited when I saw the video for “It’s Going Down” by the X-Ecutioners, and there was Wayne…

Needless to say, when I heard the news that he’d passed away, I was devastated. It was made even worse by the fact that I had the chance to see him earlier this year and I couldn’t go. I have been listening to Static-X a lot over the past couple of days in honor of Wayne. Rock in peace, Wayne Static. You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

