Rock in Peace

I’ve been waiting to post about this, wanting the situation resolved before I said anything.

On March 2nd, the Velcro Pygmies announced that their bassist, Jacob “Sandman” Sanders, and his older brother, Jeremiah, had gone missing while fishing on the Tennessee River. After a grueling and suspenseful thirteen days, during which the entire Pyg family awaited news with bated breath, a body was found on the 15th..and soon identified as 24-year-old Jacob.

Still, as the band reminded all of those involved, it wasn’t going to be truly over until Jeremiah was found as well.

Today that moment has come.

I’m not even going to pretend to understand how their loved ones feel. I will simply say this: I met Jacob once in 2014 when I carried my parents to their first Pygmies show. He was sweet and obviously put his heart and soul into his craft. He chatted with my mom and me for a long time following their set, never acting as if there was something he’d rather be doing or as though he was bored, impatient, etc. He left quite an impression on both me and my mom. From what I’ve seen and read, that was just the kind of person he was. He touched lives, and the world feels much more empty without his presence — and Jeremiah’s, I know.

If you could, take a second out of your day to offer a prayer or positive vibes to those who are grieving over these losses.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

2jbnl21
    Mom, Jacob, Me, and Chase

Leave a Reply

