My Top 10 Vocalists in Current Rock

Obviously this is simply a matter of opinion, limited to the artists I am familiar with. But isn’t that always the case with these things?

10. Mark Tremonti (Alter Bridge/Tremonti Project)

Okay, I admit it, I’m quite partial to Alter Bridge. However, that is not the reason Mark made the list. Though I’m sure there are better vocalists out there, I feel he deserves to be recognized. He and his band (Tremonti) are terribly underrated.

9. Corey Taylor (Slipknot/Stonesour)

I’m not a huge Slipknot fan, but even in their early days I couldn’t fail to notice his voice. Stonesour — and Slipknot’s later work — served only to further showcase his abilities.

8. Ville Valo (HIM)

Do I even have to explain? As Bam Margera once said, “All girls love HIM.”

7. Matt Bellamy (Muse)

I wasn’t overly familiar with Muse until I saw them with My Chemical Romance in 2007. That was when I discovered that A) Muse rocks, and B) Matt has one hell of a voice!

6. Ivan Moody (Motograter/Five Finger Death Punch)

First with Motograter and now with FFDP, this man’s voice…it gives me shivers down my spine!

5. Jonny Hawkins (Nothing More)

He has won my heart. Hands down my favorite of the more recent frontmen.

4. Brent Smith (Shinedown)

Look, if you weren’t sold by “.45” or “Burning Bright,” I doubt there’s much I can say to change your mind.

3. David Draiman (Disturbed/Device)

This one may seem odd — until you hear him cover “Sound of Silence.” From day one, I’ve loved his voice, but it was “Darkness” from Disturbed’s second album that sealed his place forever in my top ten.

2. Jacob Bunton (Lynam/Adler)

Jacob is probably the best vocalist you’ve never heard of. He now fronts Adler, which boasts Stephen Adler of Guns N Roses, but I discovered him through his work with Lynam.

1. Myles Kennedy (Alter Bridge)

Duh! His voice is gorgeous!!! He has an amazing range and can hold a note forever… and did I mention his voice is gorgeous?!?!

 

9 thoughts on “My Top 10 Vocalists in Current Rock

  1. Always good to see other opinions. Myles Kennedy I agree with being in top ten. Noticed no female singers. Try halestorm. Also, Chris Cornell, Paul Rogers ate in my opinion, awesome. Black lawless is something of a powerhouse albeit from the 80s, try wasp – heaven hung in black.

    1. I’m not big on female vocalists. Never have been. I don’t know if you can inherit musical tastes, but if you can, I get that trait from my mom. Lol. Not crazy about Halestorm. If there was a female I was going to put on the list, it would be Christina Scabbia of Lacuna Coil. I thought about Cornell…and Paul Rogers, well, I’m doing a classic rock list as well. =)

      1. Aha, that’s quite possible. We’ll be doing a list soon I think, but it’ll be the likes of Mercury and co as opposed to “current” (most likely have current in too).

    2. I’m not sure I could put a classic rock list in any particular order. Because I would have to include Mercury, Robert Plant, Paul McCartney (and Harrison), David Gilmour, Paul Rogers, Ronnie Hammond (Atlanta Rhythm Section), Lou Gramm (Foreigner), and…probably Roger Waters…Now how am I supposed to choose who’s number one??? Lol

  2. Like this list, many great voices out there, but I would maybe like to see M. Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold), Rob Flynn (Machine Head) and Chester Bennington (Linkin Park, Dead by Sunrise) here as well. (I recommend hearing Dead by Sunrise – Crawl Back In). Anyhow, great musicians all of them.

    1. My Honorable Mentions include Jared Leto, Howard Jones (formerly of Killswitch Engage), Chad Gray (Mudvayne/HellYeah) and Lajon Witherspoon of Sevendust. I love Avenged with all of my heart and soul, but I don’t think Matt ranks in the top 10, though he is sounding a lot better as of late. I will definitely check out “Crawl Back In.” Thank you for the suggestion! =) And I like hearing alternative opinions! I appreciate the comment!

    2. P.S. – Would you label Avenged as metal now, or only circa Waking the Fallen? Because I think I did some blending of genres here, but I can’t do a strictly metal list since I am not familiar with metal at all, really.

      1. I still think of Avenged Sevenfold as metal, and that’s kind of why I figured I could get away with suggesting all those three, since some in your list definitely classifies as metal. Ivan Moody in Five Finger Death Punch, Cory Taylor in Slipknot and David Draiman in Disturbed (and Device, which counts as industrial metal) counts as metal artists and bands. But I don’t mind, I think they deserve the attention.

  3. Yeah, I actually thought about leaving Ivan Moody and Corey Taylor off the list for that reason. I think Disturbed walks the line enough that Draiman can be included on a rock list — as does Avenged, in my opinion. Which is why I love A7X so much. Every album is so different and could be classified either way. (For instance, I’m totally calling the self-titled “rock,” but Nightmare definitely mixes genres.)

Leave a Reply

