New Music (5/21 — 5/27)

Repentance: “Born to Choose”

Inglorious: “I Got a Feeling”

Primal Fear: “Hounds of Justice”

Harm’s Way: “Last Man”

Gruesome: “Fatal Illusions”

Dirty Machine: “Further From You”

Retox: “The Nature of Failure”

Motionless in White: “Voices”

Avatar: “The King Welcomes You to Avatar Country”

Black Tusk: “Agali”

Enter Shikari: “Undercover Agents”

The Armed: “Nowhere To Be Found”

Mike Shinoda ft. grandson: “Running From My Shadow”

Vein: “Demise Automation”

ASG: “Execution Thirst”

Polyphia: “G.O.A.T.”

State Champs: “Mine is Gold”

Bleeding Through: “End Us”

Lipz: “Get It On”

Dance Gavin Dance: “Care”

Powerwolf: “Demons Are a Girl’s Best Friend”

Khemmis: “Bloodletting”

Bad Wolves: “Zombie” (acoustic)

Asking Alexandria: “Alone in a Room”

Roses Unread: “After All”

Too Pure To Die: “Only the True Remain”

Butcher Babies: “Look What We’ve Done”

Will Burton: “Run Out of Road”

New Music (5/14 — 5/20)

Impending Doom: “Everything’s Fake”

Repentance: “Collide”

I Prevail: “Rise”

Light This City: “Agents of Fate”

BrokeNCYDE: “0 to Brokencyde”

Death Valley High: “Play Dead”

YOB: “Our Raw Heart”

Vagrants: “Clarity”

Backstreet Boys: “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart”

Christina Aguilera ft. Demi Lovato: “Fall in Line”

Body Count ft. Max Cavalera: “All Love is Lost”

Nine Inch Nails: “God Break Down the Door”

Pop Evil: “A Crime to Remember”

Perfect Plan: “Bad City Woman”

Silent Season: “Stars”

Lindsy Says: “Hold on Me”

Parade of Lights: “Human Condition”

Parade of Lights: “Inside My Head”

Lizzy Borden: “Long May They Haunt Us”

Like a Storm: “The Devil Inside”

The Last Year: “Annabelle”

Cheap Trick: “The Summer Looks Good on You”

Ghost: “Dance Macabre”

Hardcore Superstar: “Baboon”

Afraid of Human: “From the Ashes”

Being As An Ocean: “OK”

3 Years Hollow: “You and I”

LA Cobra: “Ride”

Review: Shinedown’s Attention Attention

Band: Shinedown

Album: Attention Attention

Genre: Rock

Release Date: May 4, 2018

Standout Tracks: “Attention Attention,” “Creatures,” “Get Up,” “Special,” “The Human Radio,” and “Brilliant”

As if it’s not obvious from the above list of songs I’ve labeled as standouts, I really enjoyed Shinedown’s Attention Attention. The record’s first actual track is “Devil,” which is an immediate one-two punch of heavy riffs and Brent Smith’s strong vocals. This was not too different from prior Shinedown singles and gave me no warning for what was to come.

“Black Soul” hits the ground running. While undoubtedly aggressive, the song grabs the listener and pulls us along for the ride. I was captivated from the keyboard riff that introduced this track, all the way through the fast-paced, the melodic, the raw and unfiltered, the heartfelt, and Brent’s calmly stated “Until next time” at the conclusion of the album.

With Attention Attention, Shinedown touches on the anthemic (“Attention Attention”), the hard and angry (“Kill Your Conscience,” “Pyro”), and their own unique brand of balladry (“Get Up,” “Special”). The record spans the range of human emotion, taking its audience high and low.

Brent Smith stated in interviews that Attention Attention was for the fans, and the sentiment is clearly there. It’s a whirlwind journey from darkness to light that is simultaneously enjoyable, encouraging, and a musical masterpiece.

I am clearly a sucker for the softer songs, and that’s why “Get Up” and “Special” tug at my heartstrings and claim positions one and two of my favorites from the album. However, I was also delighted by the head-bobbing funky bass and beat during the verses on “The Human Radio,” and the slow then blistering ride that is “Brilliant.”

From start to finish, there is nothing about Attention Attention that I did not like. I give this record 5/5 stars without any hesitation.

My inner preteen is so happy right now…

I signed in on Facebook and this was the first thing I saw:

New Backstreet Boys?!?!? Excuse me while my inner ten-year-old squeals excitedly. Lol.

New Music (5/7 — 5/13)

Virgil: “Will It Blend?”

Aloe Blacc: “Brooklyn in the Summer”

Deafheaven: “Near” (preview)

Bastille: “Quarter Past Midnight”

Sifting: “Gloom”

August Burns Red: “King of Sorrow”

10 Years: “Burnout”

Bleeding Through: “Fade Into the Ash”

Jonathan Davis: “Basic Needs”

Attila: “Still About It”

Northlane: “Heartmachine”

Selena Gomez: “Back To You”

Skyharbor: “Dim”

The Veer Union: “Save Yourself”

LSD ft. Sia, Diplo, and Labrinth: “Audio”

John Mayer: “New Light”

Sevendust: “Medicated”

Meghan Trainor: “Let You Be Right”

Charlie Puth (ft. Kehlani): “Done For Me”

Dave Matthews Band: “Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin)”

Tremonti: “Bringer of War”

Snakebite: “Beyond the Rust”

Graveyard: “The Fox”

Aelonia: “Zombie” (The Cranberries cover)

May 2018 Album Releases


-Cara Stacey & Camilo Ángeles: Ceder

-CMD094: Ghost Station

-Drew Daniel/John Wiese: Continuous Hole


-Carb on Carb: For Ages


-Iceage: Beyondless

-Shakey Graves: Can’t Wake Up

-DJ Koze: Knock Knock

-Parkway Drive: Reverence

-Louise Goffin: All These Hellos

-Reuben and The Dark: Arms of a Dream

-Plan B: Heaven Before All Hell Breaks Loose

-R.F. Shannon: Trickster Blues

-The Dirty Coal Train: Portuguese Freakshow

-Vive Le Void: Vive Le Void

-Eternal Summers: Every Day It Feels Like I’m Dying

-Ecstatic Vision: Under the Influence

-Leon Bridges: Good Thing

-Cut Worms: Hollow Ground

-Shinedown: Attention Attention

-Skating Polly: The Make It All Show

-MORO: Irrelevant

-High Sunn: Missed Connections

-Daniel Blumberg: Minus

-Middle Kids: Lost Friends

-Frank Turner: Be More Kind

-Hoodrich Pablo Juan: HoodWolf2

-Black Moth Super Rainbow: Panic Blooms

-Royce da 5’9: Book of Ryan

-Jess & Matt: Songs From the Village

-Belly: Dove

-Peace: Kindness is the New Rock and Roll

-The Lacs: Dirt Rock


-Leviathan: Unfailing Fall Into Naught


-Snoopy Mane: Love Is Real


-Beach House: 7

-Jess Williamson: Cosmic Wink

-The Body: I Have Fought Against It, But I Can’t Any Longer

-La Luz: Floating Features

-Soft Kill: Savior

-Arctic Monkeys: Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino

-Slow Mass: On Watch

-Gold Connections: Popular Fiction

-Boys: Rest in Peace

-The Death Wheelers: I Tread on Your Grave

-Charlie Puth: Voicenotes

-Bad Wolves: Disobey

-Ry Cooder: The Prodigal Son

-Sevendust: All I See is War


-John Maus: Addendum

-Ryley Walker: Deafman Glance

-Elder Brother: Stay Inside

-Maluma: F.A.M.E.

-Frog Eyes: Violet Psalms

-Pema: Bad Habits

-TT: LoveLaws

-Buck Meek: Buck Meek

-Remember Sports: Slow Buzz

-Amorphis: Queen of Time

-Alkaloid: Liquid Anatomy

-Ash: Islands

-Jon Allen: Blue Flame

-At the Gates: To Drink From the Night Itself

-Five Finger Death Punch: And Justice For None

-The Sidekicks: Happiness Hours

-Echo & the Bunnymen: The Stars, the Oceans, and the Moon


-Mouse on the Keys: tres


-Ryan Roxie: Imagine Your Reality

-Wand: Perfume

-Dyslexic Postcards: The Sweet Science

-CHVRCHES: Love is Dead

-Shawn Mendes: Shawn Mendes

-Chad Valley: Imaginary Music

-Hoobastank: Push Pull

-Bleeding Through: Love Will Kill All

-Graveyard: Peace

-Jonathan Davis: Black Labyrinth

-Snow Patrol: Wildness

-Dear Nora: Skull Example

-Jo Passed: Their Prime


-Chepang/Test: Split